What inspiration looks like

I haven’t blogged for ages. This is not because I don’t have anything to say. Anyone who knows me will know I never lack anything to say, it’s been a lack of time. I’ve actually got several posts stored up. But seeing this today has inspired me out of blinkered business start-up mode and back into blogging mode.

Regular readers will know I was due to run a half marathon earlier this year which I ended up having to pull out of. However, I have now signed up to run the Swindon half in October. This is principally a personal challenge:

* It’s been something on my ‘bucket list’ for a couple of years now
* It’s a very tangible goal for me to aim for in order to improve my running
* It will also improve my overall fitness

I’m not one of these people who finds running easy. Not a bit of it. My esteemed business partner used to run sub-3 hour marathons in his day. No chance I’d ever be able to do that! I find every mile basically quite horrid and very much like hard work, but I do get a kick out of it and it’s been really satisfying to see the miles tick up and bit, by tiny bit, my performance improve.

But in addition to all of that it’s an opportunity to raise some money for charity. I’m going to be running in aid of Help For Heroes. It’s a cause very close to my heart and one I’ve always found inspiring. And switching on the news this evening, I saw the embodiment of this inspiration with Ben Parkinson who has today carried the Olympic torch.

Ben is a former Paratrooper who lost both his legs below the knee as well as suffering a serious brain injury during a tour of duty in Afghanistan. Today, after an unbelievable battle back to health and 12 hours a day of rehab, he walked 300 metres in 26 minutes on his prosthetic limbs to carry the torch along its route.

To say this affected me is of course an understatement. But the next time I don’t want to go out for a run or am struggling with however many miles I’ve set myself that day, I will think of Ben and be inspired by him.

About kategraham23

Start-up founder, writer, connector, librarian's daughter. Interested in learning, HR, technology, online, media, marketing, fashion and cricket. Not always in that order. The views expressed here are solely my own and do not reflect the thoughts and opinions of the company I work for currently, or those I've worked for in the past.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to What inspiration looks like

  1. Dave Havis says:

    Good work Kate. Swindon in October . 😉 Shared on FB…

    Like

  2. Phil Willcox says:

    Great return Kate, bring on Swindon!

    Like

  3. Joseph Reyes says:

    Good stuff Kate. Have a great time in Swindon!

    Like

Leave a Reply

