Looking ahead to Learning Live 2012

LEARNING LIVE LOGOOver the next couple of days I’m going to be attending the annual conference of the Learning and Performance Institute, Learning Live. I’m lucky enough to get to quite a few conferences and events, and I’m really pleased to see how much effort the LPI team has put into its backchannel. There’s going to be a host of attendees covering different sessions on Twitter (myself included) and there is even going to be a live Chat2Lrn tweet chat right at the end of the event at 4pm on Thursday. Plus David Kelly (@LnDDave) is already curating resources from Learning Live here, proving that you don’t need to physically be at the event to learn something from it as he’s over the other side of the Atlantic!

As part of my preparation for this type of event, I try to prioritse the sessions that interest me the most, or those I think will be the most beneficial. I like to give myself loose learning objectives beforehand so I can evaluate what I’ve learnt after the event. Most of all I just hope to hear something new, something creative and something inspiring. I love coming back to my desk after this type of event with lots of new ideas buzzing around in my head. So I’ll be pondering what I’ve gained after the event is over on this blog.

There’s going to be lots of great stuff going on and I can’t get to everything, but I’ll be trying to squeeze in the following:

* A good look around the exhibition to see what’s new in the market
* Manning the eLearning Network stand for a bit to tell people about what we do within the L&D community
*Catching up with old friends, and hopefully making some new ones at the networking dinner
* Hearing Elliott Masie speak for the second time (first time was five years ago and he was fantastic, I can still remember much of what he talked about)
* Professor Greg Whyte’s session as I have a half marathon coming up and am hoping he can really inspire my running efforts!
* Listening to some real life stories on learning that’s working for organisations from the likes of Lisa Johnson and Mark Bradshaw
* Gaining some new insights from the experts, especially Jane Bozarth who’s flying in from the States
* Sneaking into the International Think Tank to hear from global contributers on what we should share across cultural and geographic boundaries and what makes us different

Through all this I will be tweeting and trying to capture as much insight as I can. My tweets always act as my notes and my record from an event that I review afterwards. I hope you’ll find them useful too. Hashtage is #LEARNINGLIVE; think it’s going to be a busy couple of days 🙂

About kategraham23

Start-up founder, writer, connector, librarian's daughter. Interested in learning, HR, technology, online, media, marketing, fashion and cricket. Not always in that order. The views expressed here are solely my own and do not reflect the thoughts and opinions of the company I work for currently, or those I've worked for in the past.
This entry was posted in Conferences and events, Learning Live and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

