That was the year that was

With the new year almost upon us, there are gazillions of blogs either reviewing 2012 or looking ahead to 2013 around. This is not a post that is going to do that. At least not for anyone other than me.

ResolutionsAt the start of this year I made a set of resolutions. Some were personal, some were professional. At that point in time I’d only been officially working for myself for a couple of months and it was all very new. So 2012 has truly been a year when I’ve been learning as I go. It’s been hard work but I’ve managed to achieve all but one of the resolutions I set myself 12 months ago (and that was overtaken by events over which I had no control sadly). Building up Ascot Communications has been tremendously rewarding and I’m enjoying working with fantastic clients who are commited to what they do. There are some great projects ahead for next year and I can’t wait to get stuck in. And starting mylearningworx is incredibly exciting. The world is changing and so is how we learn. To be a part of something that’s embracing these changes is very special indeed.

New year’s resolutions aren’t for everyone. But as I stated in last year’s post, I prefer to think of them as goals. The BBC has just reported that if you treat resolutions seriously and write them down (thereby making a form of contract with yourself) then you’re much more likely to stick to them. Not exactly rocket science but I did do this and believe it helped.

But whatever your feelings are on goals, objectives or resolutions, I believe no man is an island. Yes, ultimately your success is down to you. And certainly this year I’ve had to dig deep and find new levels of resourcefulness, commitment and motivation. But I’ve had a huge amount of support along the way. Whether that’s running my first half marathon or help in my new ventures – my friends, family and PLN have been astoundingly wonderful (and importantly, very patient). So this is my chance to say thank you, thank you, thank you 🙂

And whatever your plans are for 2013, I wish you the best of luck and look forward to sharing along the way.

About kategraham23

Start-up founder, writer, connector, librarian's daughter. Interested in learning, HR, technology, online, media, marketing, fashion and cricket. Not always in that order. The views expressed here are solely my own and do not reflect the thoughts and opinions of the company I work for currently, or those I've worked for in the past.
This entry was posted in KPD Points and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to That was the year that was

  1. Zak M says:

    Glad to have met you in 2012 and look forward to seeing what you do in 2013. I hope that we get the opportunity to collaborate in the near future, see you on the other side!

    Like

  2. kategraham23 says:

    Thanks Zak, likewise it’s been great to meet you and thanks for your interest and support this year. Very much look forward to seeing you in 2013 – enjoy whatever you have planned for new year’s eve!

    Like

  3. Pingback: Big ideas for weelearning | Learning as I go…

Leave a Reply

