What I’m looking forward to at #LEARNINGLIVE

Dear readers I need to begin with an apology. I urge my clients and people in my PLN to blog, I wax lyrical about the benefits of writing and sharing with the world…and then I don’t take my own medicine. I can only apologise for the huge gap between posts as I’m sure you’ve all missed me…*tumbleweed blows across the screen*

LEARNING-LIVEAnyway! I’m here to preview one of learning and development’s leading industry events: LEARNING LIVE. I’ve been fortunate enough to attend this event, run by the Learning and Performance Institute, for the past few years. It’s always interesting and enjoyable, and it’s growing every year. I really like the approach the LPI has taken for 2013 of inviting speaker submissions for the conference. This has opened up the programme to include some new faces which is great. But what I find even more positive is that many of the speakers are on the front line of L&D, facing challenges that arise in organisations every day.

Individuals like Sam Burrough, Andrew Jacobs and Craig Taylor fight the good fight for learning – often on their own or in small teams with little support. And I can’t wait to hear from people on the coal face who are tackling real-world problems head on.

Don’t get me wrong, I always benefit from hearing independent experts share their stories and the latest thinking. And I think it’s the breadth of speaker backgrounds that will make LEARNING LIVE not only exciting, but even more relevant for attendees this year. The rest of the line-up can be viewed here and I’m also looking forward to hearing from the likes of Fiona Quigley and Owen Ferguson on topics as diverse as storytelling and data!

As well as the conference, there’s an exhibition showcasing solutions from providers who again are proving themselves on the frontline day in, and day out. It’ll be great to see some of the latest innovations from the organisations like Kineo and KnowledgeAdvisors.

I’m also joined by fellow tweeters Marco Faccini, Sukh Pabial, Stephanie Dedhar, Annie Garfoot and Ollie Gardener and, as always, I’ll try and bring you a flavour of what transpires over the next couple of days and hopefully lots of food for thought.

If you have any particular questions you’d like me to pose at the event, just leave a comment or tweet me @kategraham23. I’ll share my thoughts during and after the event here (without a huge break before my next blog!)

About kategraham23

Start-up founder, writer, connector, librarian's daughter. Interested in learning, HR, technology, online, media, marketing, fashion and cricket. Not always in that order. The views expressed here are solely my own and do not reflect the thoughts and opinions of the company I work for currently, or those I've worked for in the past.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

