The night before…HR Tech Europe

I should be packing right now but instead I thought I’d share a few things I’m looking forward to at this week’s HR Tech Europe event. I’ll be tweeting and blogging on Thursday and Friday this week and hope to bring a flavour of what’s happening, what’s new and what’s exciting to those not there (or those in different sessions to me).

A brand new event
It’s my first time at this event and I genuinely have no preconceptions about it other than the fact the line-up is great (more below). I’m excited to see a new exhibition and some vendors who are breaking down barriers with their technology. The disruptHR zone is a cool concept as well and great to see smaller start-ups being given an opportunity to show their wares alongside the established providers. I’m also intrigued to see the difference that having just conference attendees makes. At most big UK events, the expo can be attended for free so there are lots of exhibition only attendees mixed in with those attending the conference. Not so at HR Tech Europe, but there are 2,000 people registered so it should still be busy and buzzy!

Making new connections
Happily there are a few people going that I already know (hat tip David D’Souza who’s a fellow newbie to this event) and am planning to meet up with, but there are going to be a lot of faces I’ve never seen before. I’m looking forward to meeting new people, hearing new stories and forging new connections.

New insights
I’m attending streams on the ‘Future of Workforce Learning’ and ‘HR Technology’ as well as the opening keynote and one or two other general sessions. Some speakers I’ve heard before but am eagerly anticipating new insights from the likes of David Wilson, Charles Jennings and the lesser spotted David Havis (who I haven’t seen for ages!) It will also be good to hear new insights from speakers who are new to me from the likes of the Boston Consulting Group, Travelex and Etihad Airways. Having the chance to hear current case studies and sessions from a broader European perspective will be interesting too.

Using more words
As the curator of backchannels, my priority at live events is often the immediate 140 characters available on Twitter. I try and reflect on certain sessions afterwards on my blog, but the shorter format of tweets is usually my focus. However on this occasion I am part of the blog squad so will be doing more analysis and providing more in-depth reviews which should be a useful and interesting exercise.

I’m also getting into the swing of things by using the official event app. In addition to the hashtag #HRTechEurope the app provides access to other attendees and is building interest and anticipation in an engaging way. I’m enjoying using it and been really rather impressed with it.

Let me know if there’s anything you want to keep an eye out for and I look forward to sharing as much as I can over the next few days.

Kate

About kategraham23

Start-up founder, writer, connector, librarian's daughter. Interested in learning, HR, technology, online, media, marketing, fashion and cricket. Not always in that order. The views expressed here are solely my own and do not reflect the thoughts and opinions of the company I work for currently, or those I've worked for in the past.
This entry was posted in Conferences and events, HR, HR Tech Europe and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

