#7Songs

When I started this blog back in 2011 a wise man (Sam Burrough) gave me some great advice. He told me to write for myself and if anyone read it then that’s a bonus. More often than not though, this has not been a terribly personal blog or a window into my soul and it does tend to focus more on work related matters. But when I saw a blog from Andrew Jacobs about 7 songs, and having seen a few people post on Facebook about it, I was inspired to try and find 7 songs that are important to me.

Music has always been a huge part of my life. My mum has always sung and still hits the top Cs in her choir, her partner (Brian Noyes – shameless plug) is a composer, conductor and music teacher of some 30+ years and I grew up playing a number of instruments (some better than others). Mr G is also *obsessed* with music and we still play vinyl and even have a MiniDisc player somewhere. So in short, there’s no way I could choose a truly definitive 7 songs (no Madonna here after all) but here’s a snapshot of some music I love.

Stereophonics – A Thousand Trees

This is the first song from their first album. I am a huge fan of their earlier music, especially as a girl from a small Welsh town albeit not in the Valleys. I don’t like their more recent songs as much in all honesty, but I still love watching them live and have seen them in concert too many times to count. The lyrics are clever (as always with Kelly Jones) and it mostly reminds me of my crazy, wonderful younger sister and I bouncing around singing at the top of our voices.

Blur – End Of A Century

I’m a child of the Britpop era and was totally Team Blur (although I do like some of the early Oasis music too). In the days before Spotify I had to wait eagerly for Christmas to get my hands on the cassette of Parklife and played it until the tape broke. Hard to choose one song, especially as it’s just brilliant listened to from start to finish (something I always love in an album, when it tells a story). But this is a cracker.

Zero 7 – Destiny

Andrew had a Sia song in his post and I too first discovered her with Zero 7 when I was living abroad between university and starting life in the real world. No words needed other than it’s rather beautiful and set the scene for our first dance at our wedding.

Portishead – Roads

Maintaining the mellow vibe and a song from an album (Dummy) I can listen to back to back, this song reminds me of being a teenager spending hours with my friends in whoever’s parent’s living room we could commandeer, doing *literally* nothing. Proper f*** all as Mickey Flanagan would say. As a busy working mum now I can not even begin to imagine the hours we whiled away just chewing the fat and enjoying the music and each other’s company. What a luxury!

DJ Shadow – Midnight In A Perfect World

I had a playlist on my iPod, and now have one on Spotify called ‘Kate’s Hip Hop Education’ created by my husband. This particular tune was an early inclusion on my first ever iPod and one that is easy even for non-hip hop lovers to appreciate. It isn’t about rap, it’s the sample, it’s the beat and it’s also very chilled out. It might take more than one listen but please don’t skip it because you think you don’t like hip hop. Possibly pour a glass of wine to go with it.

Mos Def – Miss Fat Booty

Continuing the hip hop theme, possibly more of an obvious choice for those not fans of the genre. This is about the rhymes and the lyrics for me (which are pretty entertaining if you listen properly).

Jack Garrett – The Love You’re Given

I thought I should also include something current in here as tragically most of my choices are from the 90s (showing my age). This guy has come up through the brilliant BBC Introducing initiative and creates really interesting music using loops all by himself. Watch the video and you’ll see what I mean but I think the song is fantastic too.

So. Possibly a bit more of a personal post than usual but I hope you found something that tickles your ear drums.

About kategraham23

Start-up founder, writer, connector, librarian's daughter. Interested in learning, HR, technology, online, media, marketing, fashion and cricket. Not always in that order. The views expressed here are solely my own and do not reflect the thoughts and opinions of the company I work for currently, or those I've worked for in the past.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

