Learning Technologies 2016: A Taster

Last year’s Learning Technologies Summer Forum hosted one of the most engaging keynote sessions I have ever seen. Deborah Frances-White delivered a superb talk on the power of play and quite literally had everyone in the room on their feet by the end of it. I’ve never seen the same level of participation in a formal keynote setting before with so many hundreds of people. It was fantastic.

Whilst not a typical keynote, the great content and insights into learning *are* typical of what an attendee can find at Learning Technologies. I was lucky enough to interview Frances-White on Periscope immediately after her session. Interestingly enough, the use of Periscope was something new I was ‘playing with’ at the time. And as she herself says, creating a safe environment where it was OK to make mistakes i.e. trial the Periscope app as a new way of sharing updates from the event, meant that I learned a lot.

So in the build-up to this year’s conference in a couple of weeks time, I thought I’d share the interview again. The quality isn’t the best as it’s saved down from Periscope, but there are still some great insights there and I think it whets the appetite for all the learning to come in a couple of weeks time at London Olympia. Frances-White is presenting again on day one of the conference on ‘Creating the Ideal Learning State’.

Don’t forget to tune into the backchannel via #LT16UK if you can’t attend in person. Otherwise I’ll see you there.

 

About kategraham23

Start-up founder, writer, connector, librarian's daughter. Interested in learning, HR, technology, online, media, marketing, fashion and cricket. Not always in that order. The views expressed here are solely my own and do not reflect the thoughts and opinions of the company I work for currently, or those I've worked for in the past.
This entry was posted in Conferences and events, Learning Technologies and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Learning Technologies 2016: A Taster

  1. Your brain is tricked into creative and imaginitive play…I like that from Deborah in the video.

    Like

Leave a Reply

