Are all algorithms created equal?

I have noticed a trend recently. I am using Instagram more and more. Partly because I have just started renovating a Victorian house, so am sharing more visual content as we go through the different building/decorating/interior design aspects of that process. Partly because I am also enjoying consuming the visual content of the people I follow there.

Interestingly though, I am clicking on their sponsored posts more and more frequently.

Collage4-1024x885

Sample sponsored posts – the one on the right is more me.

Not only that, but I am also converting those clicks into sales and buying (skirts, shoes, lamps, china to name a few) from those sponsored ads. Whatever Instagram is doing with its algorithms to understand my behaviour and my preferences – it’s working. Slightly terrifying really.

But here’s the funny thing. I *never* click on Facebook ads. Never. I exclusively use the app version and so don’t even really see their ads.

But Facebook owns Instagram. I can’t understand why they’re not replicating whatever Instagram is doing? Seems odd to me. But maybe for my bank balance, that’s a good thing…

About kategraham23

Start-up founder, writer, connector, librarian's daughter. Interested in learning, HR, technology, online, media, marketing, fashion and cricket. Not always in that order. The views expressed here are solely my own and do not reflect the thoughts and opinions of the company I work for currently, or those I've worked for in the past.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

